Client Login

Dangerous Goods and Hazardous Substances Assessment


Dangerous goods and hazardous substances, are solids, liquids, or gases that can harm people, other living organisms, property, or the environment. They are often subject to chemical regulations. Dangerous goods include materials that are radioactive, flammable, explosive, corrosive, oxidizing, asphyxiating, bio-hazardous, toxic, pathogenic, or allergenic. Dangerous goods are divided into classes on the basis of the specific chemical characteristics producing the risk. Each substance or article of Dangerous Goods named in the Code is assigned to a particular Class relating to its primary hazardous property. The Classes are as follows:

  • Class 1 –  Explosives
  • Class 2 –  Gases, (compressed, liquefied, dissolved or under pressure)
  • Class 3 –  Flammable liquids
  • Class 4 –  Flammable solids
  • Class 5 –  Oxidising agents and organic peroxides
  • Class 6 –  Toxic and Infectious Substances
  • Class 7 –  Radioactive
  • Class 8 –  Corrosive Substances and Articles (e.g. acids)
  • Class 9 –  Miscellaneous Dangerous Goods (e.g. dry ice, asbestos, environmentally hazardous substances)

A Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) is a document which outlines specific health and safety information about the substance and should accompany dangerous goods and hazardous substances that are stored on premises.

Prensa has an experienced and qualified team of consultants who are able to undertake assessments of Dangerous Goods and Hazardous Substances to provide advice, assessments and recommendations tailored to individual sites and large portfolios to assist our clients to comply with their legislative requirements.